top of page
  • Writer's pictureGOODMAN

ISO 9000, 9001, 9002?

We often hear "We are ISO 9000 certified." Uh, ISO 9000 is NOT possible to be certified! In fact, ISO 9001 is the only standard in the ISO 9000 series that requires certification.

So, what are ISO 9000, ISO 9001, ISO 9002?

In the family of ISO 9000 series, ISO 9001:2015 specifies requirements for a quality management system. All the requirements of ISO 9001:2015 are generic and are intended to be applicable to any organization, regardless of its type or size, or the products and services it provides.

ISO 9000:2015 is a guidance standard that focuses on the key concepts that make up a quality management system. It describes the fundamental concepts and principles of quality management which are universally applicable to the organization that wants to demonstrate ISO 9001 requirements.

ISO/TS 9002:2016 provides guidance on the intent of the requirements in ISO 9001:2015, with examples of possible steps an organization can take to meet the requirements. However, it does not prescribe mandatory approaches to implementation, or provide any preferred method of interpretation.

Note: ISO/TS means ISO Technical Specification

Well, we do not have ISO 9003.

ISO 9004:2018 gives guidelines for enhancing an organization's ability to achieve sustained success with the quality management principles given in ISO 9000:2015. It also provides a self-assessment tool to review the extent to which the organization has adopted the concepts in this document.

Now, you have been introduced to the members in ISO 9000 series. In reality, various industry sectors (automotive, aerospace, medical devices, food) have standardized their interpretations of ISO 9001 within their own marketplace, if you heard about something like ISO 22000, ISO 13485, ISO 14001, etc..

Stay tuned.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page